The Parsons Medal in the Engineering Sciences

For outstanding achievement in the field of Engineering Sciences

Commemorating the work of Sir Charles Algernon Parsons organised by the Irish Academy of Engineering

The Irish Academy of Engineering is proud to announce the revival of the award of the Parsons Medal awarded to engineers or engineering scientists of exceptional ability in research or engineering technology, designated as

“The Irish Academy of Engineering Parsons Medal for Engineering Sciences”


The Parsons Medal commemorates the work of Sir Charles Algernon Parsons, the inventor of steam turbine and youngest son of the famous astronomer, William Parsons, 3rd Earl of Rosse whose family seat is at Birr, Co. Offaly.

Previous winners include Dr. Patrick Prendergast, Provost of Trinity College Dublin and Professor (Michael) Peter Kennedy, Professor of Electrical and Electronic Engineering, University College Cork, both of whom are members of this Academy.


2016 Parsons Medal

The 2016 medal was awarded to Professor Tony Fagan from University College Dublin (UCD) for his role in the improvement of global telecommunications technology. Professor Fagan received his award for his work in digital signal processing (DSP) which is a technology allowing instant communications around the world. It is the technology underpinning phones and the internet. It supports the internet of things and smart technology devices. In the 1980’s Dublin was the home of the first modem using a single DSP chip and this was developed by Professor Fagan.



Parsons Medal – previous years